Solace: A Lyric Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble is being commissioned by a consortium, led by Connie Frigo at the University of Georgia, who will premiere the piece on March 2, 2018. The work will be inspired by selected meaningful texts by authors chosen by Joel and Connie and will deeply engage with lyricism. Many thanks to the musicians and ensembles listed below for being members of the consortium to bring it to life:

Harrison Clarke, Erik Elmgren, Connie Frigo/Cynthia Johnston Turner/Hodgson Wind Ensemble

Griffin Campbell/Damon Talley/LSU Wind Ensemble

Jeremy Koch/US Air Force Band, Washington DC

Chien-Kwan Lin/Mark Scatterday/Eastman Wind Ensemble

Michael Jacobson/Eric Wilson/Baylor University Wind Ensemble

Timothy McAllister, University of Michigan

Debra Richtmeyer/Steve Peterson/University of Illinois Wind Symphony

Taimur Sullivan/Mallory Thompson/Northwestern Symphonic Wind Ensemble

Kenneth Tak Kei Tse/Mark Heidel/University of Iowa Symphony Band

Dale W Underwood/Robert Carnochan/Frost Wind Ensemble

Robert Young/Mark Norman/UNCSA Wind Ensemble